top of page
DEVIL IN MOSCOW (Viola & Harpsichord)

DEVIL IN MOSCOW (Viola & Harpsichord)


DEVIL IN MOSCOW (Viola & Harpsichord) - PDF


*Please note this version is for harpsichord accompaniment


Duration: approximately 15 minutes

Total pages of music: 27 score pages, plus 14 page viola part

(File contains additional pages with covers, program notes, etc.)


Devil in Moscow is a fantastical character suite for viola and harpsichord based on personas from the novel The Master and Margarita by Russian writer Mikhail Bulgakov.  The primary movements are based on three of the novels principal, and most flamboyant characters: Woland (the devil), and two members of his retinue, Behemoth and Azazallo.  Two short interludes separate the primary movements.  Devil in Moscow was given its premiere by the Allemagnetti Duo on May 10, 2009 at Carnegie Hall’s Weill Hall in New York City.

bottom of page